Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington v Nelson
Friday May 27th 2022

JW Lees Lancashire League 2020 Competition
  Score Score
Accrington 144-3 Nelson 143-4
Scorecard Table
Accrington (2pts) beat Nelson (0pts) by 7 wickets


Accrington T20 2022
The T20 team line up
©Nigel Stockley

Accrington got off to a flying start in the T20 competition with a 7 wicket win over Nelson at the Property Shop Arena. Chasing 144 for victory, Accrington got off to a slow start with 10 runs coming off the first five overs and 43 off the first ten. Professional Jacob Clarke and Ben Gorton set up the win with a 2nd wicket stand of 91 after the early loss of Stuart Crabtree (0) at 8. Clarke hit 46 from 45 balls and Gorton made 40 from 38 balls. Skipper Graeme Sneddon (25 not out) and Simon Hanson (13 not out) saw Accrington home with 5 balls to spare with an unbroken 4th wicket stand of 34. After losing the early wicket of Ashir Imdad (7), professional Usman Tariq (23) and skipper Khurram Nazir put on 52 for the 2nd wicket before Tariq fell to Waqar Ashraf. Nazir went on to hit five fours and two sixes in making an unbeaten 60 from 59 balls. Matthew Pettinger also hit 26 with Hanson picking up 2-25 for Accrington.